fredag 19 september 2008

Archie Shepp - For Losers

Archie Shepp recorded this album for Impulse on three seperate dates in 1968-69, but it wasn't released until 1971. It features sounds that go in line with what he had done up until then and some funkier, fatback sounds that go in line with what his later Impulse releases would sound like. Personnel is as follows; Archie Shepp on tenor and soprano sax, Woody Shaw, Martin Banks or Jimmy Owens on trumpet, Matthew Gee or Grachan Moncur III on trombone, Clarence Sharpe, James Spaulding or Martin Kenyatta on alto sax, Cecil Payne or Charles Davis on baritone sax, Cedar Walton or Andrew Bey on piano, Dave Burrell on organ, Bert Payne or Wally Richardson on guitar, Wilbur Ware, Albert Winston or Bob Bushnell on bass, Joe Chambers, Beaver Harris or Bernard Purdie on drums and China-Lin Sharpe or Leon Thomas, Doris Troy and Tasha Thomas on vocals.
  1. Stick 'Em Up
  2. Abstract
  3. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  4. What Would It Be Without You
  5. Un Croque Monsieur (Poem: For Losers)

2 kommentarer:

manny sa...

thanks for posting

Anonym sa...

Thank you very much!