söndag 26 oktober 2008

Tsuyoshi Yamamoto - Misty

Some more Japanese jazz released on the Three Blind Mice label. This is from pianist Tsuyoshi Yamamoto and was recorded in 1974 together with Isoo Fukui on bass and Tetsujiro Obara on drums. Very nice, chilled out jazz for them quiet afternoons.
  1. Misty
  2. Blues
  3. Yesterdays
  4. Honey Suckle Rose
  5. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  6. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  7. Angel Eyes


lördag 25 oktober 2008

Trouble - After The War

Funky jazz from Denmark. Very groovy record, packed with funky drumming. Released in 1970 on Sonet. The players are Allan Botschinsky on trumpet and flugelhorn, Ray Pitts on tenor sax, soprano sax and flute, Ole Koch Hansen on organ and piano, Ole Berndorf on guitar, Nils-Henning Orsted Pedersen on bass and Bjarne Rostvold on drums.

  1. Christmas Day's Evening
  2. Circus Waltz/After The War
  3. Lonely People/Ballad
  4. Children Song
  5. Twinkle
  6. Winter Night
  7. Three/Deep Six


fredag 24 oktober 2008

Mel Brown - Mel Brown's Fifth

Once again, Mel Brown on Impulse, released in 1971. This one is a whole lot grittier than the other Mel Brown record I posted and it's a whole lot better too, if you ask me. The other players are Jimmy Davis on organ and keyboard bass, Jeff Osborne on drums, Carle Vickers on trumpet, Jake Riley on trombone, Lorenzo Carnegie on alto sax, Onion Miller on tenor sax, Tobie Butler on baritone sax, Clifford Coulter plays electric piano on one tune and Mel's father, John H Brown, contributes a vocal. Other than playing his guitar Mel also plays electric piano, sings and plays bass. The 10 minute jam, Luv Potion is dope.
  1. Time For A Change
  2. Good Stuff
  3. Seven Forty-Seven (Airport Blues)
  4. Luv Potion
  5. Drifting Blues
  6. Cheap At Half The Price
  7. Home Made
  8. Gimme A Little Slack


torsdag 23 oktober 2008

Isao Suzuki Trio/Quartet - Blow Up

Another record from bass player Isao Suzuki, this one released in 1973 on Three Blind Mice. Suzuki plays bass and cello, Kunihiko Sugano plays piano and fender rhodes, George Otsuka plays drums and a second bass player, Takashi Mizuhashi, is added on four tracks. Aqua Marine is a nice, hypnotic tune with sweet rhodes piano. Blow Up is funkier and sort of hectic.
  1. Aqua Marine
  2. Everything Happens To Me
  3. Blow Up
  4. Like It Is
  5. I Can't Get Started
  6. Low Flight


onsdag 22 oktober 2008

Bobby Jones - The Arrival Of Bobby Jones

The Arrival Of Bobby Jones was released in 1972 on Cobblestone Records. The players are Bobby jones on tenor sax, soprano sax and clarinet, Richard Davis on bass, Charles McPherson on alto sax, Jaki Byard on piano, Mickey Roker on drums, Bob Dorough plays rhodes on two tunes and Sue Evans handles percussion duties on three tunes.
  1. Thanks To Trane
  2. Ballad For Two Sons
  3. 'Stone Bossa
  4. Blues For The Brown Buddha
  5. Waltz For Joy
  6. Keepin' Up With Jones
  7. As The Crow Flies


måndag 20 oktober 2008

Crusaders - Unsung Heroes

Another Crusaders post. This one was released in 1973 on Blue Thumb. Funky jazz, typical of these men at this point in time. Aside from the original four members the players are Larry Carlton and Arthur Adams on guitar and Max Bennett on bass.
  1. Unsung Heroes
  2. Lay It On The Line
  3. Crossfire
  4. Hard Times
  5. Let's Boogie
  6. Freedom Sound
  7. In The Middle Of The River
  8. Heavy Up (Don't Get Light With Me)
  9. Night Theme
  10. Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep


söndag 19 oktober 2008

Rudolph Johnson - The Second Coming

Dope jazz with an edge, which is nothing less than what you expect from a Black Jazz album. Released in 1973, this record features four Rudolph Johnson originals and one tune written by Kirk Lightsey, who plays piano. Doug Sides plays drums, Kent Brinkley plays bass and Rudolph Johnson plays his tenor sax and is also credited as the arranger. All the tunes are nice but The Traveler and The Highest Pleasure stands out for me.
  1. The Traveler
  2. Time And Space
  3. The Highest Pleasure
  4. The Water Bearer
  5. The Second Coming

Link removed at the request of Black Jazz Records

lördag 18 oktober 2008

The Afro-American Ensemble - Free The Black Man's Chains

This is a great funky concept record that deals with being black in America, from the slavery days to religion to politics. It was released in 1972 on GSF records. My favorite tracks include the title track and Fair Skin Man, both tracks are masterful dirty funk all the way through.
  1. Free The Black Man's Chains
  2. ''Slave'' I Wanna Be Free
  3. It's A Sad Black World
  4. North To The Promised Land (Big Black Man)
  5. Black Is Black
  6. Fair Skin Man
  7. Gone Is The Laughter Of You
  8. Somebody Bigger Than You And I
  9. Love (L.O.V.E.)
  10. Tomorrow The Sun Will Shine
  11. Soul President
  12. We Are Here


onsdag 1 oktober 2008

Jazz Crusaders - Lighthouse '69

By 1969 The Jazz Crusaders had begun moving into the funky area of jazz they would focus on for most of the 70's. They still have a good chunk of jazz left in their style though. This was recorded live at the Lighthouse with "their favourite bassist" Buster Williams. The main four Crusaders are Wilton Felder, Wayne Henderson, Stix Hooper and Joe Sample. Lighthouse 69' was released on World Pacific Jazz.
  1. Get Back
  2. It's Gotta Be Real
  3. Willie And Laura Mae Jones
  4. Ruby P'Gonia
  5. It's Your Thing
  6. Inside The Outside
  7. Reflections
  8. Svenska Flicka