onsdag 4 december 2013

Olle Bäver - Castor Fiber

Great free jazz with a spiritual touch, with cover versions of Walk with Thee (Eddie Gale) and New Africa (Grachan Moncur). Released on Amigo in 1977.


tisdag 16 april 2013

Faruq Z Bey - Infa'a

Limited vinyl release from 2006 on Qbico. Faruq died recently but remained active on the scene 'til his death. This record contains some very moody modal music with avant-garde and afrocentric leanings.


måndag 15 april 2013

Michael White - Spirit Dance

great jazz-violin record from Michael White (Fourth Way, Build an Ark) on Impulse. If you think you'd like Coltrane on violin you should check this out.

Spirit Dance

fredag 14 december 2012

Prince Lawsha - Firebirds Live at Berkeley Jazz Festival

A great record. Swings hard, with plenty of space for the soloists (mainly Lasha himself) to move around. Ron Carter plays bass, Kenneth Nash on percussion, Hubert Eaves on piano, Ron McCurdy drums and Lasha/Lawsha plays alto, baritone and flute. Released in 75 on Birdseye (private label).
  1. Mayflower
  2. For The Child
  3. Tracking Train

torsdag 13 december 2012

The new band

I dont know if anyone is still reading this blog (it has been a while since my last post). I've still got som rips made and rips to be made but cant ever seem to get around to posting them.
Anyway, just thought I'd drop a link to music me and some friends have been making lately. Kind of in the avantjazzgrooveinstrumentalhiphop category. None of us are proffesional musicians or anything, we just make music the only way we know how... because it's hella fun!


fredag 20 maj 2011

Geater Davis - Sweet Woman's Love

Here's some obscure deep-soul, funky and bluesy. Released in 1971 for House of Orange.

Here's a youtube preview:


fredag 1 april 2011

Walter Hawkins - Selah

Yo. I haven't been posting much (at all) lately (for about seven or so months). But I have come to life and started re-upping some dead links (Universal Jones, Freddie Mccoy, Carolyn Franklin, Chuck Bridges and Isao Suzuki). Should you find more dead links just drop me a line in the comments and it'll be on my to do list.

I do have some new unblogged treasures waiting to get ripped but I don't have my turntable hooked up the right way as of now.
I did however find this rip just laying around on my hard drive and I realized it had not been posted yet. Look at the backcover and you'll know everything I know about it.

Some youtube-previews:


fredag 10 september 2010

Bengt-Arne Wallin - Varmluft

Swedish big-band record with Clark Terry, Sabu Martinez and an A-list of swedish jazz musicians. Clavinet laden blues numbers, scenic big band jazz with some funk and epic folk-jazz with nice rhodes. Released on Sonet in 1971.

The N.A.T.O. Song

Herr Töreses Döttrar I Vänge

  1. Prologue And Chorale
  2. The Song About A Hole, Somewhere...
  3. The Song About The Usual Thing
  4. The N.A.T.O. Song
  5. Epilogue
  6. Sånger Till Min Kvinna Att Se
  7. Sånger Till Min Kvinna Att Höra
  8. Herr Töreses Döttrar I Vänge

Wayne Davis - A View From Another Place

Spritual soul, or something like that. I like this record. It manages to be varied while keeping it together, blending a lot of different styles into a whole. I found some youtube clips for your previewing pleasure.

I Like The Things About Me That I Once Despised

Sweet Bird Of Youth

The sound is stripped down for the most part, Wayne on piano, Bernard Purdie on drums and Jerry Jemmott on bass. Richard Tee, Richard Davis, Roberta Flack, Eugene McDaniels and Carrie Cole also participates. If your musical taste is anything like mine you won't want to not hear the 11 minute funk freak-out that is Joel 2:28. 1973, Atlantic Records.
  1. Sweet Bird Of Youth
  2. Mixed Up Guy
  3. How's Mama's Baby
  4. I Like The Things About Me That I Once Despised
  5. Somebody's Watching You
  6. I Love You So
  7. Joel 2:28

söndag 30 maj 2010

Jazz On The Road - 12 Special Arrangements For Jazz Dancing

A rare piece of instrumental funk that I picked up the other day at a flea market. I picked it up because I noticed Super Fly and Cisco Kid on the back cover. Turns out the whole album is mostly made up of raw breakbeat-funk with some fuzzy guitar, organ and horns. There's a definite library-funk vibe in here. I'm not sure what the story is with this record, there is no mention of musicians or producers/arrangers.

Moving World

Cisco Kid


  1. Moving World
  2. Love Theme
  3. Super Fly
  4. Honky Cat
  5. Do It Again
  6. Cisco Kid
  7. Corazon
  8. Sweet Mary
  9. Hot Mud
  10. Beautiful Sunday
  11. Grand Central Shuttle
  12. Get It On